Delhi Institute for Administrative services

India’s Leading Institute for Civil Services Examinations

Plan of Examination

The Civil Services Examination consist of two successive stages:

  • Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination (Objective type) for the selection of candidates for the Main Examination ; and
  • Civil Services (Main) Examination ( Written and Interview) for the selection of candidates for the various Services and posts.
Candidates who are declared qualified for Civil Services (Main) Examination; have to submit Detailed Application From (DAF).

First Stage Details

  • The Civil Services (Preliminary) Examination comprises of two papers of 200 marks each i.e. General Studies (GS) Paper -I and II.
  • GS Paper -II (also known as CSAT i.e. Civil Services Aptitude Test) is qualifying in nature and in which a candidates has to secure 33% marks only.
  • Objective type ( Multiple Choice Questions) are asked in this stage. Marks obtained in this stage are counted only to decide merit in preliminary examination , not for final selection. Clearing the Prelims makes one eligible for the next stage of the exam.

Second Stage Details

Civil Services (Main) Examination is the ‘written stage’ of the examination. It consist of nine papers of which, marks of only seven papers are counted in deciding the final merit list. In the remaining two papers. a candidate has to secure the minimum qualifying marks. The question papers for the Mains examination are of conventional (essay) type.

  • The Civil Services Personality Test consist of a board of members for assessing the candidate’s personality. A candidate is asked question on matters of general interest.
  • The object of the interview is to asses the Suitability of the candidate for a career in public service by a Board of competent and unbiased observers . The test is intended to judge the mental caliber of a candidate.
*Final rank of candidate in merit list depends upon the marks scored in second stage only i.e Written and Interview.
  • Paper-A (One of the Indian Language to be selected by the candidate from the Languages included in the Eight Schedule to the Constitution): 300 Marks
  • Paper -B (English): 300 Marks
Table Shows The Marks Distribution Counted For Final Merit
Paper Subject Marks
Paper-I Essay 250
Paper-II General Studies-I (Indian Heritage & Culture & Geography of the world and Society) 250
Paper-III General studies-II (Governance , Constitution , Polity, Social Justice & International Relations) 250
Paper-V General Studies-IV (Ethics, Integrity and Aptitude) 250
Paper-VI Optional Subject paper-I 250
Paper-VII Optional Subject paper-II 250
  Sub Total (Written Test) 1750
  Personality Test 275
  Grand Total 2025

Eligibility Criteria

  • A candidate must have attained the age of 21 years and must not have attained the age of 32 years on the 1st of August of examination year. The upper age-limit is relaxable, maximum of 5 years for SC/STs candidates and 3 years for OBC candidates. Age relaxation is also applicable for Ex-defense personnel and candidates with certain disability.
  • A candidate must hold a universities degree, or posses an equivalent qualification for appearing in Civil Services Examination. Candidates who have appeared in the final year of degree, examination and also the candidates who intend to appear at such a qualifying examination will also be eligible for admission to the Preliminary Examination. But such candidates have to produce proof of passing the requisite examination before appearing in Civil Services (Main) Examination.